Skip to content

A Correction, an Update and My Hunch

July 18, 2009

Correction:  I said in a post below that my bishop told me to contact the Missouri Provincial again, and then the Apostolic Nuncio if I don’t hear back.  Nope.  My bishop didn’t tell me to make another effort.  He said to contact the Apostolic Nuncio if the provincial does not address it.   I wrote a letter to Fr. Sambi, and it flowed.

Update:  Because I was so angry, and the provincial was denying everything, I focused on court a couple months ago and addressing the legal agreement.  But the pastoral issues bothered me more, and much, much, much deeper.  So, when lawyers told me it’s a very good case on the contract breaches, and when Fr. Nicolas wrote back and told me he asked the province to address it,  I put the legal issues aside for later (if needed), and focused on the pastoral issues.   The pastoral issues captivate me.   So rich with things to think and pray and wonder about.

My Hunch:   Among other breaches, the Missouri Jesuits intentionally breached the agreement for the perp’s 50th anniversary as a priest, and did it in Germany (easily proven)  because it was a “lesser violation” in their thinking than doing it in the US.   I  (and their legal agreement) was nowhere in their thinking…..Actually, they probably calculated it…..  The world is small these days, and I caught them.    Jesuits are like that:  “Jesuits First”, whatever commitments and legal agreements they made with other people.   Don’t believe anything they ever say about “collaboration”.  It’s weak.  Honestly.   It’s weak when it counts.

I hope some of that made sense.

One Comment leave one →
  1. vsptruthteller permalink*
    July 18, 2009 9:39 am

    My current daydream on the legal issues, if this ever has to be handled as a “legal case”…… let my lawyer handle the legal issues, while I go on the pilgrimage Camino de Santiago de Compostela, and ponder how the first people I ever had to sue, as a lawyer and a citizen, is Jesuits. (20 years as a lawyer, next year, and never had to sue anybody.)

    I can imagine it. Why are you here?, the question along the pilgrimage, or in a hostel.

    Because I had to take Jesuits to court about the Jesuit who sexually assaulted me and they broke promises about, then lied.

    Really, I’ve been wanting to do this for awhile, and somehow it fits.

Leave a Reply

