Skip to content

The Truth Will Set You Free

July 16, 2009

I said a few weeks ago that when this was over there was something I wanted to say to two Jesuits I trusted — if I still trusted them when it was over.

Now I’m thinking I don’t want to wait, and see if time ruins it.

When I started this blog, I needed a password.   I have my usual set of passwords for using online, but for some reason I did something brand new on this blog.  I used the password: thetruthwillsetyoufree.

About ten days later I had to find the settlement agreement with the Missouri Jesuits because people were asking me about it.  I was out of town  when I started this blog, and had to get back to my house to look in my cluttered attic for the six year old  settlement agreement.

The settlement agreement includes a 2003 letter from Frank Reale, provincial number one, that he and his assistant Phil Steele wrote.   In the paragraph where they talk about the painful abuse and finding me credible and their hopes for healing, they say they deeply believe the truth will set you free.

It’s not a saying or phrase I use much.  I have other things I say.  But it’s what I thought of when I started this blog:

The truth will set you free. Tell it.

And it came from my 2003 settlement agreement with the Missouri Province under Jesuit provincial number one.

Thanks guys, whatever happens from here.  Thanks for putting that idea in my head.

I wish none of this happened, but…..  thanks.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

